Odd 7.62x54R

To me have offered cartridge 7.62x54R with h/s “F N 32”. I never saw such headstamp, but I assume that this cartridge from the order for the Baltic States as it has been found together with cartridge “К32 7.62”. I know that “К32” and “К40” was made for the Baltic States before WWII, but I have no acknowledgement that Belgium participated in this contract. Who has the information on this cartridge?

By "Baltic States, I assume we are talking about Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia. FN, beginning about 1931, was a primary supplier of 7.92 x 57 ammunition to Lithuania, and even produced one lot with the Lithuanian National Crest, a simple stick-figure representation of the “Gates of Gediminas” in 1932, so they were a substantial participant in these contracts. I add this information simply to show that fact - I don’t know anything about the FN 7.62 x 54R round.

John Moss

You are right, I spoke about these countries. I have discussed this question with the friend and the version with “finnish” origin of this cartridge seems to the most probable. This cartridge is found together with others 7.62х54R cartridges not Russian manufacture. And this complete set of cartridges has very big range of dates of manufacture. From WWI to WWII. In the USSR there was an order to assemble all trophy cartridges in rear warehouses and to use them for training of recruits or for home guard arms in a critical situation.

Re "Baltic “Trophy” (Booty) cartridges…

These were utilised in the darkest days of 1941, with the German army at the gates of Moscow and Leningrad. The Worker’s Militia in Moscow were issued with One Baltic Rifle (Usually a P14 or Lee Enfield, Occasionally a Mosin M91, and ONE Clip of ammunition, and sent to the Tank traps on the Western side of Moscow ( towards the outer suburb of Khimki, which was the maximum German advance.

Newsreel evidence of this “issue” of rifles and ammo exists, and it is clear the rifles are P14s and the ammo .303 in clips.