Organizing wildcat cartridges

I have been accumulating wildcats for many years. I recently ran out of room in one cabinet and moved the wildcats to a new set of drawers. I have over 600 of them but about one third are unidentified. Most of them go back several years, I don’t really try to keep up with the more recent ones at the present time.

I would like some recommendations on how best to organize these things.
For now I have separated the rimmed, rimless, and belted cases. From there size seems to make sense but so does organizing by base case.

Case length, bullet size, base type, maker, all make sense for some parts of my cartridge collection. For 9mmx19 country and headstamps and loading make sense. Shotgun concentrators and spreaders, I organize by patent. For rimfire, maker and size, for rifle, company (ie, USC Co,Winchester, Hornady, RWS etc) but also by gun maker. On those cartridges that I don’t collect by headstamp, I usually organize by case type except military rounds which I sort by country. Perhaps it is just me that’s disorganized.

It also seems like it would be good to organize wildcats by developer but with so many unknown to developer, I am hesitant to try this method.

I know we each organize our collections differently so I am not expecting a definitive method, just recommendations to what may make some sense to some of you into wildcats.
Thanks for any recommendations.

Gary,
I don’t know that it is any better but I do my wildcats two different ways. First I seperate the by family. Example would be all of the JDJ wildcats in a group. Then another group with all of the Whelens, another with all of the Hubels and yet another group with all of the Hawk wildcats. Then by caliber & case length inside these groups. Then everything else that does not belong to one of these groups are all sorted by caliber & case length.

Zac