Polish 8mm Mauser ammo 1937 & 38

Have acquired five boxes of Polish 8mm ammo in relatively nice shape. I’m completelly new to cartridge collecting and wonder if I have “just shoot it” ammo or something of interest. Four boxes are made by POSISK and the other by P.W.U. Is there a forum where I could find the value for these cartridges? Help appreciated.

I am not an expert, but I do collect WWII German boxed ammo, and branch into “captured” stuff too…

In my experience, any boxed pre-WWII Polish ammo is very hard to find. I have 1 decent box in my collection.

I would say don’t shoot it! If you have doubles, try taking them to a cartridge show, and see what you can sell/trade them for…

As for value, I am sure the real experts can help you there, but I would guess (a real SWAG) figure $20-$25 a box…

If you decide you’d like to sell on, pm me, I’d be interested in one…

This forum might benefit from a For Sale/For Trade board…

Polish boxes have come on the market in a good supply over the last couple of years. You need to post photos of the box labels and note the headstamps and the primer ring color to determine the value. Some are VERY valuable- most are not.

[quote=“pzjgr”]I am not an expert, but I do collect WWII German boxed ammo, and branch into “captured” stuff too…

In my experience, any boxed pre-WWII Polish ammo is very hard to find. I have 1 decent box in my collection.

I would say don’t shoot it! If you have doubles, try taking them to a cartridge show, and see what you can sell/trade them for…

As for value, I am sure the real experts can help you there, but I would guess (a real SWAG) figure $20-$25 a box…

If you decide you’d like to sell on, pm me, I’d be interested in one…

This forum might benefit from a For Sale/For Trade board…[/quote]

The buy sell trade aspect is being considered by the webmaster and the FPP . We are all waiting breathlessly for their decision.