Pre WW2 German .30 Caliber?

I got these in a ammo batch I bought. They look to be pre-WW2 German .30 caliber. Box is in great shape and headstmap looks to be 2-62 BD 7.62 VE from Noon clockwise. Anyone have any info on these? I am new to old ammo and my searches have been unfruitful.

german4

The headstamp you typed would indicate that what you have are cartridges of Caliber .30 US for the M1 and M2 Carbines, on cases manufactured by Cartoucherie de Valence in the second quarter of 1962. Likely intended for service in the French Indo-Chinese war, as already in what became Vietnam, American weapons were much in evidence with the French.

Why they have been repacked into a box for German 7.9 x 57 type s.S. ball, made in 1936, with cases made by Deutsche Waffen- und Munitionsfabriken A.-G., Berlin-Borsigwalde factory, is beyond me.

Edited to correct identification of cartridge case type.

John Moss

Interesting. They are way smaller than .30-06 cartridges only 1 5/8" long. Take a look at the headstamp pic I uploaded and maybe you can make out some other info I can not.

O.K. These should be the .30 Carbine round. Same basic headstamp. All the other information applies. To avoid future confusion on this thread, I will amend my original comments to the correct cartridge case type.

This is why it is important to give measurements when unsure of a cartridge’s “heritage.”

John Moss

It is a french .30 carbine from Valence.

chassepot

Any paraticular value to them or the box?

The cartridges are common, and worth very little. Worth NOTHING for shooting, as they are very corrosive, and should never be fired in a U.S. M1 Carbine, due to the difficulty of cleaning the captive piston and its housing. The piston “holder” is staked into the housing, and removing it a few times to clean, even with the proper carbine piston wrench, will destroy the staking. Constant re-staking will likely ruin the piston housing.