Questions on a WW1 era .45 Auto

While working on a project I pulled this cartridge apart. It is a WW1 era .45 Autos and found something that made me curious. I am no expert on WW1 or 45s so maybe this is a common thing. Figured I would post it here and find out.
This was a loaded round that as far as I could tell had not been tampered with. But when I pulled the bullet out I noticed several things. The first that caught my eye was the two tone bullet jacket.
Before I pulled the bullet I would have said it had a normal GM jacket. But as you can see all of the bullet that was inside the casing is CN plated. This line of difference is very clean and sharp. It does not look like the CN plating has just worn off. It looks to have been made this way. Then I noticed that the jacket had the impressions from a 3 dot crimp in it sides. That was funny because I had not noticed a 3 dot crimp on the casing and after rechecking I still can find no signs of a 3 dot crimp on the case. First picture is the headstamp and base of the bullet. Second is the side of the case and bullet. Any ideas?
Thanks
Zac

Zac,

Good pictures!

Unfortunately when you look at the cartridge case side wall it is very apparent that someone tried to “beautify” the cartridge a some point in time. They aggressively used a very fine rotary wire brush, perhaps a Dermal tool. In the process the exposed portion of the bullet, which was tinned, was “cleaned” down to the GM jacket. The portion of the bullet that remained inside the case was protected and as such still retains the tinning. Said person did not bother to “clean” the case head.

Tinning of bullets is covered extensively in History of Modern U.S. Military Small Arms Ammunition, Vol. 1, 1880 - 1939, H.W.S.

Brian

bdgreen,