Sending inert collectors' rounds from the USA to the UK

Sending even obviously inert rounds is fraught with problems, as we all know. It helps a lot if the case has a hole drilled in the side, and of course the rounds should be wrapped in paper labelled “INERT - CANNOT BE USED - FOR DISPLAY PURPOSES ONLY” and so on.

There is another hazard which I have just discovered the hard way, however. A gentleman very kindly sent me an inert rifle round. He didn’t charge me for it, but he did put a value of $100 on the postal slip. The round got to me safely, but so did a bill for import tax - for £30, or about $45!

You have been warned…

Tony–I looked into the duty problem for England a couple of years ago and as I recall, duty starts at anything over US$70. So, if the package is declared as a gift and valued at less than US$70, there should be no duty.

The rules for shipping stuff into the UK are many and varied and I’m by no means an expert but, touch wood, I’ve not had a problem with the dummy or drill round that form my collecting interest. The thing to remember, from a UK point of view, is that all individual component parts of a cartridge are legal to own without restriction. The only controlled items are ‘expanding’ bullets.

It is the assembling together into a viable cartridge, of the individual components, that makes the item restricted to those licensed to own or possess it. The usual point at which this happens is with a primed case. This only applies to a viable primer though, not one that has been oiled or rendered inert in some other way. As far as the law is concerned any inert cartridge is just a piece of metal.