Spanish 7.62x51 with Yellow Tip

I’ve spent 2 hours so far trying to find the color codes for Spain on bullet tips. I have several 7.62x51’s with yellow tip, “7.62x51 SB 79” headstamp. What are they, tracer or spotter? One page say’s “chrome yellow is a spotter” is this right? Thanks

In my collection I have 297 rounds of 7.62 x51 Spanish. None with yellow lacquer in the projectile. I have no knowledge that have been manufactured in Spain 7.62 x51 with a yellow tip. It is probably the work of some amateur with a desire to “invent” …
Escuchar
Leer fonéticamente
Diccionario - Ver diccionario detallado

I just checked “The Military Cartridges Caliber 7,62x51mm NATO” by Brandt, Hamann, Katmann and Kiehn, as well as “Small Arms Ammunition Identification Codes” by Scranton and neither list a yellow-tipped 7.62x51 from Spain.

Scranton does show a 7.62x51mm NATO with a yellow tip and a Portuguese headstamp. He states that it is actually a Russian Type D ball projectile loaded into a Portuguese case. Is there any chance your round could be a reload?

I am convinced that this cartridge is not original.

Can’t get down to my office right now, but has anyone checked in “Molina-Orea”?

I have studied the Molina-Orea and the TRATADO DE CARTUCHERIA LANZA, none of the two books talk about a 7.62 x51 with a yellow tip.

Thanks all for the comments… Sure beats me. But I’ll keep them till I find out for sure. Bill Woodin is also checkin on them.

The painting of the tip seems really original, but I insist that is not listed in any book Spanish. I will make arrangements with two friends ex- workers factory Palencia to see if me out of doubt.

Davrib … I fully agree … it looks perfect as does the primer seal & primer, as vwell as the bullet crimp. But I had 7.62x51 w/a Russian HE 7.62 in it from a test that was done. So it is hard to tell. Hope you get some kind of answer.//

Do you have any of these repeated cartridge? Go to Switzerland to ECRA meeting?
My email is davrib@hotmail.com