Spent 9 mm D.A. cartridge found

Hello all…

Newbie here… Not too familiar w/ the whole cartridge “scene” but I’ve done some homework…

I found the spent catrtridge bellow over the weekend (during the Abbotsford Airshow in BC, on August 10th), on the grass, roughly in the middle of the airfield, where “normally”, I wouldn’t expect anyone to wander (see where I found it in the last illustration bellow – yellow arrow – this area would only be “open to the public” for the Airshow)

The headstamp reads D.A. 67 +, which I understand to be Dominion Arsenal (Montreal), 1967 and made to NATO specs… The cartridge is very worn by the elements so it’s probably been sitting in that same spot since the 60s or 70s.

I just wonder, what would a spent 9 mm NATO cartridge be doing in the middle of an airport? I know sometimes airport maintainance crews must “shot away” wandering wildlife from airports, but it would seem ood to me that a 9mm gun w/ military ammo would be used for such purposes. I like to think this cartridge was involved in some cold-war spying incident, with a James Bond kind of chase in the middle of the night, but I guess that would be just too cool. So, I just wonder, which kind of gun would this cartridge have been fired from? And for what, in an airport…? Any ideas greatly appreciatted!

Cheers!

Pyth

The cartridge is a blank and would have had a rosete closed mouth. So, you are probabily correct in your first thought that it was used to scare deer or birds away from the runways.