Steyr Hahn, 1917, marked 38 auto

I’m looking at a 1917 dated Steyr Hahn pistol, which has been stamped ‘38 auto’ on the slide and barrel.

That smells funny, and Google has only been so helpful as to dredge up a post by Mr. John Moss from several years ago, listing several different 9x23mm cartridges. I would have sent the man a private message, but can’t figure how to do it.

I suspect the pistol in question fires the generic Austrian cartridges and was mislabeled on import, but I’m no expert.

Were these Steyr pistols ever converted to 38 auto in any real numbers, or am I correct in assuming these markings are a marketing stunt?

Thank you.

The .38 ACP, the .38Super ACP, the 9x23 Steyr, and the
9x23 Largo are all similar, but different cartridges…
The case dimensions are similar, except both.38s are Semi rimmed.
Bullet weights, powder charges, and diameters differ by a few thou’ of an inch, and the case tapers also differ…the .38s are virtually cylindrical – larger bullet.
Now the importer , not having metric ammo for the guns, could have run a .38 Auto reamer into the chamber to open it up to feed the .38 case…and the breech block face was probably tolerant enough to close on the semi rim… just like some 9mm Spanish Largo pistols will chamber .38 Super.
Or, cowboy like most importers are, just saw the similarity between.38 Super and 9mm Steyr…and ASSUMED they were the same, and marked the guns accordingly for a quick sale…similar thing was done to
Swedish 9mmBrowning Long saying they could fire .380 ACP…yes,sometimes.

BTW, the.38 Auto was Browning’s original 1902 cartridge, about the strength of a .38 Long rev. Cartridge…after WWI, the .38 Super ACP was introduced for M1911 Colt design guns…a much stronger cartridge…firing a 38 Super in a gun marked 38 auto is a road to the pearly gates.

Get the correct (9x23 Steyr) ammo and also check chamber against a .38 Auto_/ .38 SUPER case.

Safe shooting.
Doc AV