Swiss P SeCa by RUAG in USA

I work as a gunsmith at a mom and pop gun dealer in the US and have access to many of the big distributors/wholesalers that sell guns and ammo. One of them had 8 boxes of 9mm ammo listed as “SAMP SWISS P 363841000 9X19MM (SR) S 50” with no other info for $8.25 ea. I ended up getting all 8 boxes figuring it would, at the very least, be high quality range ammo. This is what I got:

Headstamp is 9x19SR 12M1 T

The info I’ve found on it here mainly indicates that it’s European police ammo. Is this stuff common in the US? One Gunbroker ad (no longer viewable) claimed it is “+P+ 1312FPS.” Is this true? I thought +P was a SAAMI thing and it isn’t indicated on the box. Does the 12M1 on the box/headstamp indicate Jan. 2012 production? Would you shoot this stuff or keep it? Give me the skinny.

Thanks guys!
Eric W

1 Like

RUAG quotes muzzle velocity as 395 m/s from a 100 mm barrel (1296 fps from 4" barrel). Pressure is given as 2700 bar, which is definitely on the hot side.
Accuracy is quoted as 10 shots within 12 mm radius (.5") at 25 meters.
The bullet is lead-free as is the primer, hence the SR for “schadstoffreduziert”.

P.S. To avoid confusion, RUAG has raised the quoted pressure figure since the publication of the flyer shown in Muskey’s message below.

The SeCa was an interesting design that inserted a gilding metal, closed at the front end, tube inside a gm jacket, to give a two piece lead-free expanding bullet. Here’s images from the RUAG 2002/03 brochure, & a picture of the bullet after expansion in soft tissue.

1 Like

Here’s an earlier version that has the tinned insert.

Paul