Techniques for making cartridge boards?

Hi all, firstly, a quick re-introduction - Ive had to re-register as its been so long since I last logged in ive lost all my details. I gave up actively collecting about 15 years ago when I got married. Im an ex reserve soldier and a communications engineer by trade.

Ive decided that rather than being left hidden away, I will put at least some of my collection on permament display, by building cartridge boards. However, im not sure of the best materials to use and how best to mount and protect the cartridges, I would very much appreciate advise on how to do this.

The first question then is material for the board, ive heard horror stories about woods causing corrosion. which wood would be best to choose for the frame? What should I use to seal the wood to prevent tannins etc leaching out and damaging the cartridges? Im considering a dark hardwood to give a nice contrast to the brass, and a dark green baize backing. Is PVC glue safe to use in this case?

Secondly, how best to mount the cartridges? Should I drill them and tie them on with copper wire? Or is there a suitable adhesive that can be used that wont cause too much damage?

Lastly, the one that I imagine will cause most consternation - how to clean and protect the cartridges themselves so they dont tarnish/corrode once on the board? I know its considered bad normally to polish old well patina’d rounds, but my first board will be mostly modern types and I will be shining them up ( I probably wont do so when making boards with cartridges older than the 1930s), what can I use to stop them tarnishing then? Ive heard mention of ‘saniwax’ but have never come across this in the UK

Thanks in advance for all advise received

Martin