TELL 9.3x57m/m. E.?

Hello IAA people. Glad to have found you.

I’m an engineer/history enthusiast/firearms collector. I’ve gone down a rabbit hole on this one… Maybe you can help.

I have a Sauer & Sohn single shot Tell rifle in my collection and I have been interested in learning more about the obsolete cartridge it is chambered for. The rifle was produced sometime around 1920 (I’m guessing) based on it having a “newer” slide-style safety design. The barrel only has a crown/B proof mark and no nitro proof mark. The rifling is cut in a Henry style which would lead me to believe that this cartridge would have been loaded with a lead bullet. The bore slugs out around 0.364" but is difficult to be sure because the 7 sided rifling is challenging to measure exactly with calipers.

The top of the barrel is marked “TELL 9,3x57m/m. E.” From a chamber cast this round appears to be similar to the 9.3x57 rimmed Triebel drawing that I found in Ken Howell’s Custom Cartridges book. One glaring difference is that the shoulder on my chamber cast is 60-70 thousandths further back than indicated on the 9.3x57mm Rimmed drawing.

I’m very interested in learning more about this cartridge, its performance and history. Any insight or information would be appreciated.

This is most likely to refer to the 9.3x57R E Express and here are my latest notes on that cartridge:

*******************9.3x57R E Express (EXP10)
This caliber is effectively the German equivalent of the English 360 2-1/4in Express and they are considered interchangeable. This became popular in continental Europe and lead to the production of a whole family of 9.3mm Express cartridges. It is difficult to distinguish from the 9.3x57R D (EXP4) without a specific hs or measuring the rim thickness (which should be 1.2mm or greater).