Us air force museum advice

I am an AF vet and am on my way to my last solo flight. I have a number of unique items which I would like to donate to an AF museum. Any suggestions which one ? These items included the souvenir bomb made for Co. Tibbits by the First Ord.Sqdn when he flew the first A bomb mission , the 50BMG shell signed by Col.Morgan, pilot of the Memphis Melle and Ben Drew first US pilot to shoot down an ME262. Actually 2 at once. Lots of other items as well. Advice ?

Why not try the main USAF museum at Wright-Patterson AFB? If they don’t want what you have, they can tell you of any base museums that might. You could also try the Smithsonian Air and Space Museum.

I love Wright Patterson! Besides most Museums often “loan out” items so more people get the chance to see it.

I have been a technical advisor and diplomatic representative for the Smithsonian for many years. I would never donate anything ordnance related to them. I donated an ammunition display which is still up at the Air and Space Museum but that was in the old days when there were people there who actually cared about the displays. It is now mostly politics. 99% of the Smithsonian holdings are in storage.

This has happened country wide as museums became tourist story books.

I may sound unreasonable, but why not to make a donation to a smaller museum? Wright-Patterson is so huge that most of the people may not notice new exhibits, there is just too much stuff there, one gets overwhelmed. A smaller museum will love and cherish such an important donation and it will be prominently displayed. For instance, MAAM at Reading, PA, the site of the biggest (and in my humble opinion, the best) WWII air and ground re-enactment event on the US Eastern coast maam.org/

Actually that’s not a bad Idea!