USN 5"/38 Caliber Questions

Hello all, I am new to the forum. I am not an expert on ordnance, so I have some questions about the US Navy 5"/38.

I recently acquired a nice 5"/38 HC projectile from Pete deCoux’s auction #16. The projectile lot # looks to be from 1968 if I am correct (I’ll post some pics of the projectile later). The lot # marking is: ALN KN-89 - C -68A. I think it was made at Kansas Army Ammunition Plant (“KN”).

First, I would like to find a suitable cartridge case to go with it, but have a question about whether it should be brass or steel. If I am not mistaken, I believe these 5" cartridges were often reloaded and reused for many years. If that is the case, would it be correct for a projectile of this era to use either a brass or steel case? I would prefer brass since it looks nicer, but not sure if I would be mixing years of usage. Were brass MK 5 cases still being used in the late 1960’s/early 70’s?

Below is Table A-3 from NAVSEA SW030-AA-MMO-010 TECHNICAL MANUAL, NAVY GUN AMMUNITION, DESCRIPTION, OPERATION, AND MAINTENANCE, 6th Revision, 2009. The pdf is available on https://www.scribd.com/doc/96593418/Navsea-SW030-AA-MMO-010-2009.

Thanks for your help!

-Larry

Here are some photos of the projectile.

The rotating band was cut into 3 pieces. As far as I can tell the projectile markings are original, but I wonder if it might have been remarked (wondering if “GCS RESCREENED” might mean that it was relettered?). The rotating band is stamped AA COM, but the stenciled lettering ID’s it as an HC projectile. Are projectiles sometimes changed and used for a different purpose? I also think the fuze is not original (at least if the paint markings are correct).

Hi Larry, beautiful example, thanks for sharing.

Here is more information about the markings:

C: Naval Ammunition Depot, Crane, Indiana (John is correct on the post below, since “KN” is the lot prefix). Date is 1968.
SB: Naval Weapons Station, Seal Beach, California
ACC: Accudyne Corp.