V-2 rocket ballistic cone

It was being sold at the show. The seller said it was pure titanium. I have zero knowledge in this field.

For a V-2 (correctly A4) is is way too small in diameter and the Germans used steel for the whole rocket (including the warhead section which this here would be then). Titanium is no option here as this material would have been used for other purposes (if they did at all as Titanium supply to Germany back in WW2 must have been more than limited, remember that even the US bought the Titanium for their SR-71 program in the USSR).

3 Likes

Alex, what do you think this item is?

AgHall show??? Looks pretty empty.

That’s before general public is allowed inside.
To Dan Dietz…I missed you there, Bob Fetch told me you were inside.
There was a moment of silence (today is Dec.7, Pearl Harbor) but people next to me wouldn’t shut up.

1 Like

Vlad, no idea, there is gazillions of possibilities!

2 Likes

Vlad, as far as I know (and I could be wrong) titanium was not used for any large scale purposes outside of the laboratory until the 1950s. The titanium parts I have seen in person are also a slightly different color than aluminum or steel, although it depends on how they are processed. Titanium looks a little more gray to me than aluminum or steel. My guess would be aluminum for the cone you showed, but it would have to be tested to know for sure.

2 Likes

Detailed drawings of the rocket can be downloaded from: v2rocket.com
The real nose cone has a base diameter of about 940 mm (3.1 feet) and is more than 2 meters (6.6 feet) hight.

2 Likes