Vegas TV Show Goof

Has anyone else caught this goof? In the opening segment of the show a .357 Magnum cylinder loaded with cartridges is shown. The show is set in the Fall of 1961, but the cartridges in the cylinder are headstamped “WINCHESTER 357 MAG”. This headstamp started in 1982. The cartridges should have been either SUPER-X or SUPER SPEED for 1961.

They probably wanted the recognizable branding of “winchester” visible for effect, as opposed to “super-x” which is not as well known. The shows & movies figure that if 99.9% of people don’t notice, then they might as well do it. My favorite is the .45 auto headstamped as “.45mm” in the movie “The Marine”, and mentioned in an earlier thread: http://iaaforum.org/forum3/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=11903

Talking about TV, I watched “Sons of Guns” episode in which they restored and shot a 20mm Solothurn anti-tank cannon. When they test it with live ammo, they get hangfire, twice. I am not an expert, the TV guys are, but wouldn’t you fire a blank first in an old large-calibre just restored cannon?

Gosh Ron, there are probably only a hand full of people in the world that would have known that bit of information and probably only 1% of them would have spent time watching TV, when they could have been working on their collection!!
Now, I have to admit, becoming a SERIOUS cartridge collector has certainly changed the way I see things, cartridge and firearms related especially. I caught myself scrutinizing Sherlock Holmes’ loading of his revolver the other night and was pleased to see they didn’t use .38 Specials! (I couldn’t find my marker pen or I would have been indexing my SLICS haul.)