WCC headstamps, 1950's

Good Morning:

I am new to this forum, and apologize for any errors I may make, but I am also new to the realm of cartridge collecting. I am interested in military cartridge headstamps generated by the Western Cartridge Company during the early 1950’s. If anyone has images of these items that they would care to post and/or share, it would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Gary

Gary

You are covering a lot of territory. Can you narrow it down a little as to cartridge/caliber and years? WCC made military ammuntion for just about every cartridge used, including the experimentals. In general the headstamps were W C C (wide spacing) with the year in two digits, or WCC (narrow spacing) with the same two digits for the year.

Here’s a photo (not mine) that gives you an idea.

Ray

Ray:

I thank you for the reply; it is greatly appreciated. As I indicated in my previous posting, I am new to this endeavour and thus do thank you. In answer to your question: I am basically interested in headstamps of small caliber WCC rifle ammunition, including experimental, that they produced between 1952 and 1954 i.e. 5.54mm up to approximately 7 mm. In that regard, I find your posted image of interest. Can you tell me more about the cartridge on the left?

Regards, and thank you for allowing me to be part of this excellent forum!

Gary

Gary

As I said, that is not my photo but one from another collector. If I remember correctly (a long shot at best ) both are experimental Project SALVO Cal 22 for Light Rifle, 7.62mm case. In other words, the 7.62x51 case necked to 22 caliber. The one on the left has an electric primer.