What is it?

Hi! I have an old Cape Gun (shotgun barrel on the left side, rifled barrel on the right side) made by Pieper, of Belgium, probably before the year 1900. While the left barrel is obviously 16 Gauge, I have so far been able to identify the cartridge for the rifled barrel. the closest I have been able to come is the .58 caliber Transformed Musket cartridge. This is not quite the correct one, as the rim diameter is smaller than the .58 T.M. the chamber dimensions are: Rim, 0.695" (17.68mm), case length 1.704" (43.28mm), base diameter 0.6235" (15.88mm). It is a straight-wall case and the neck diameter is 0.629" (15.35mm). Throat is 0.677" (16.52mm). Bore diameter is 0.5645" (14.34mm). Groove diameter is 0.551" to 0.570" (14.00mm - 14.478mm). I took the measurements many months ago and wrote them down, but do not recall why the measurements for the grooves are in a range of diameters. The measurements are, however, precise as I’m a machinist with instrumentation capable of 50/1,000,000ths of an inch accuracy. Bore and groove dimensions were taken off a .69 caliber soft lead ball driven through the barrel. Metric dimensions are calculated from the measurements taken in English units. Any better ideas of what it is? I’ve been unable to find any other cape gun that takes a .57 or .58 caliber bullet.

Is it possible to post some pictures of the rifle?(Follow the forum-instructions carefully and it will work fine.) And also from the proofmarks. As it is a Belgian rifle, caliber should have been stamped on the barrels.

Sounds like something similar to these, but in 28 gauge.

The top is a 24 bore by Chaudun (raised headstamp) and the lower a 20 bore by SFM Bruxelles. The case length of the 24 ga. here is 1.763 inches, and the 20 bore is 1.671".

I have three in 28 bore but the cases are brass and considerably shorter with from 1.39" to 1.5" c.l.

Two other 24 bore (not shown here) are both paper hulls with an about 1.3" c.l…