What is the value of .45acp ammo with a 1911 date stamp?

I have about 60 rounds of .45acp ammo with a 1911 date stamp (one is double struck). Are these worth anything? Where could I sell them? How much would they be worth?

While interesting because of the early date, but they are not really rare. The earliest date known, I believe, is September 1911 (9 11), although production is reported to have started in August of the same year, so headstamp dated “8 11” is possible from Frankford Arsenal. If found, that round would be quite valuable, I would think.

If I have to put a value on them, I would think a couple of dollars would be about right. I could be wrong - I am not good at pricing - but I certainly would not pay more than that for one. I believe there are some dates seldom encountered within these “double-date” Franford Arsenal headstamps that probably bring more from the date collectors. I am not positive about that, but it is my impression. If so, and “11” is one of those months, then the value would be more. We would need a date collector to resolve that question. While I collect cartridge differences, I do not collect dates.

The first headstamp known, “9 11” probably brings more also, not so much because of its earliest known date, but also because they have a cupronickel bullet jacket, rather than a tinned jacket which starts at least cartridges dated “12 11” and perhaps earlier. The tinned jackets were authorized in January 1912, but Hackly, Woodin and Scranton in the first volume of their great book “History of Modern U.S. Military Samll Arms Ammunition,” report that tinned bullets were loaded in cases dated as early as “9 11” at F.A. The cartridges with CN bullet jackets are quite scarce, I believe. Mine is dated “9 11.”