What is this .50 Cal? Please help

[IMG]
I’m new at this so please be patient with a “_NG”.

Can anyone tell me what this is? I’ve checked several on line pages, checked several references but cannot seem to find it. Must be I’m not wearing the right color socks!!! This is my first attempt at Photobucket! This in itself is an accomplishment.

Dimensions are:
Overall length: 2.280
Case Length: 1.460
Bullet Duia above case: .535
Case mouyh at crimp: .532
Bullet evtends .702
Rim Dia: .645

To be upfront I don’t know what it is, but it isn’t any part of the .50-70 family of cartridges. Do you have a pic of the base? That might help eliminate some possibilities and suggest others. Whatever it is, I do like it. Jack

Jack … The bas is plain … no headstamp. The url data above the pic is of the base. Glad to know I wasn’t wrong about not finding in the 50-70’s! I don’t feel so dumb now! I don’t know why when I try to post 2 pics only one of the shows up, the other has to be clicked on.//Thanks

1SFG–The first picture did not show up because the URL was missing the [img] at the beginning. I fixed it up for you.

1SFG,

Maybe a .52-70 Sharps?

Dave

Based on the cartridge dimensions I second the .52-70 Sharps.

Also, UMC and C. D. Leet both made this and are both known to have the one off centered tool mark; but the C. D. Leet version had more rounded belts on the sides of the cannelures where as the UMC were more flat like yours.

So my guess is that this is a UMC .52-70 Sharps.

Thank you all for the help! That seems to answer the questions … Only I don’t collect civ ammo except that used by the military! was hoping it was a round used by the military in the 1800’s.//