What was the earliest Steel case smokeless cartridge

I am digging around on steel case (actually iron case) ammunition from WWI and it seems to me that the German work in 1915 and 1916 with 7.9x57mm ammunition led to the first production of a modern, smokeless powder cartridge with a steel/iron case.

However, I am far from an expert in this area, or almost any area, and know little of the early work in rifle cartridge development. Does anyone know of any development or production of steel/iron cases during WWI or earlier other than the German 7.9x57mm. I understand the Austrians did some development during WWI but it apparently didn’t lead to production.

Any help appreciated.

Cheers,
Lew

I have a rimmed draw-piece of copper-washed steel headstamped “F A 9 08”, a Cal. .30 M-1906.

Great! So FA was looking at steel cases before WWI. I wonder what prompted that??? I checked HWS Vol I and FA experiments with steel cases were conducted from 1915-1919 and perhaps again in 1926, but no indication of production. I couldn’t find any 1908 work, but perhaps I overlooked it.

Still leaves the 7.9mmM the first production round as far as I know.

Would appreciate any information from others.

Cheers,
Lew

Lew, the earliest example that I know of is a 6 x 50 cartridge with belted case experimented by G. Roth in 1891.

Regards,

Fede

From the Forum Archives the thread entitled Steel case .303? , a steel case .303 is discussed. The relevant photos posted by Tony Edwards are missing from the archived thread but I saved the thread before the Forum crashed years ago and I have added back Tony’s photos in proper sequence to the excerpts below:

historian

Apr '07

Aerators Ltd & the Royal Laboratory made experimental steels cases during WW1. Kynoch made some during WW2. Results (some burst cases) and ample brass supplies did not warrant full-scale production.