Wildcat?

What is this cartridge ? A wildcat ? What is his name ?

BO : 10.27 mm - .404"
MO :10.83 mm - .426"
CL : 22.52 mm - .887"
TL : 31.95 mm - 1.258"
Weight : 19.26 g - 297,2 gn

Thanks for your help.

chassepot

That appears to be a .400 Corbon, Chassepot. I believe that there was a wildcat called the .400 Centaur that was almost the same thing too.

I may well be wrong, but isn’t the .400 Corbon a newish (perhaps15 years old) case type?

Why would it have been made on a 100 year old or perhaps more, case?

Surely if made to shoot, new brass and non-corrosive primers would have been used. Also the bullet looks to be a tinned GM-jacketed type & not modern, but period with the case.

That said, I don’t know what it is.

Hey, I could be wrong. I am no expert.

It does not appear to be a 400 Corbon. The neck looks too long. The 400 Corbon has a short neck like the 357 Sig. If it is a wildcat, the 100 year old case would not be uncommon. Us reloaders are known as cheap lot. I have a passion for bottleneck cartridges and this one uncommon for pistol cartridges with its longer neck, I like it.

It looks like a proto .41 Avenger, but the brass is much older than what one would usually find those loaded in. below are the dimensions and a photo of some .41 Avenger:

I think it is an experimental dating from the period when the UMC case was new. All that would be required would be a new .40 caliber barrel for the then-new Colt Automatic Pistol. Whether it is a wildcat or not would seem to depend on who was doing the experimenting.

Yves, this is a very interesting cartridge, although i don’t’ know what it is.