WW2 Spitfire shell?

Complete novice here…I have a 20mm Cannon (?) shell in an empty brass catrtridge case dated 1943 which I inherited from an uncle.
He always told me it was a cannon shell from a Spitfire.
The shell is painted black, in good condition, with a flat tip.
It is stamped WMC-3
3 - 43
It has a 5 or 6mm copper ring around the base with rifling grooves, the bottoms of which are unbroken and level with the outer surface of the ring.

My question is, is this SAFE? It has sat next to a coal fired hearth for some fifty years, so I hope so!
Has it any value, moneywise or to a museum?

Also, I have the rear magazine cover from a machine gun of a Junkers 88 that was shot down over Dunkirk, as well as other relics. Is this likely to be of interest to a museum?

Any help gratefully received.

Please could you post some photos. Also, are there any markings on the base of the brass cartridge case? The proper term for these markings is headstamps, and the “base” is called the case head. If there are any markings, please could you type them out.

tThere must have been a huge number of such shells ejected from planes over Southern Britain during the early years of WW2
the provenence really is based on where and when it was found.

Yes it is undoubtedly safe, a good keepsake from the war. Hang on to it, it is not valuable but it is a unique reminder of a difficult time.
The bits from a Junkers will have interest to aircraft buffs but again not that rare. So many were shot down.
The school that I went to aged 5-11 had the remains of a German bomber on the field beyond the play ground. Men came and cleared it when I was aged about 6-7 but up until that time we used to play in it. It had been stripped of guns and ammunition, also wings and engines but I can remember it vividly. We used to run through the fusilage and the teachers didn’t stop us . Nobody thought it was that exceptional. Which it wasn’t in those days.