WWII Machine Gun Belt/Ammunition Question

I normally collect WWII helmets, bayonets and fieldgear so i’m new to this field. With that said my question is could someone point me to some reference material regarding the standard configuration of ammunition belts during WWII for the 1919 type machine guns. I found what seems to be an original box of belted 30-06 ammo at a local gun show. It has 9 ball to 1 tracer, and my thinking was that most WWII linked MG ammo came 4 AP to 1 Tracer. I can’t find any good sites on the Internet to either confirm or deny this is original. Any help would be appreciated. I posted some pictures of it at the below:

Thanks,
Shannon

4 ball to 1 tracer was more or less the standard loading from the factory or belting facility.
But there was no real specified standard as to the “Correct” mixture.
Still, a very nice find!
Gregg

Gregg, then why or what purpose would they have for a loading like this? Is there a list or army document somewhere that show the loads for what purpose. For instance 4AP-1T for when facing armor and 9Ball-1T for when facing Infantry. Just trying to figure this out.
Shannon

Shannon, what are the headstamps on your .30-06 rounds?

Shannon–I can’t answer your question, but I want to welcome you to the Forum. Also, if you are using Photobucket for your image hosting, I suggest you pick the bottom choice (IMG) to add pictures to your post. That way they will appear directly in the Forum.

Thanks for the suggestion, I am not using photobucket. Is it ok to post pics to another url like I did? Falcon, I put a close-up picture of the headstamps in the url on the first question. The ball is RA42 and the Tracer is LC42.

I’m trying to figure out the img function…