WWII Steel Cased .22LR

I work as a firearms instructor at the local range and while working as a line officer I found one miss fire and a couple of empty cases made out of steel. The headstamp had “V” for victory. Can anyone of the forum give me some insight into .22LR steel cased ammunition? I have some .45ACP EC 43 ammuntion in my collection which is steel cased.

Thanks
Frank Jr.

These are made in Russia by the Klimovsk Stamping Plant (KSPZ) under the brand name “Vostok” (what translates to “east”).

here is a picture from WW2 German .22 ammo.

Hülsen aus Stahl = Steel cases.

Rgds
Dutch

Yours are Russian of current manufacture. I don’t know if they are imported as much as they used to be, but I don’t see them nearly as much at gun shows as formerly. I chronographed several brands a few years back, and out of a rifle, I was surprised to find the MVs are quite low - barely 1000 f/s. That’s really subsonic. Also, from a pistol, the MV was determined to be only a little less than that.

I have one bolt-action rifle that has always given extraction problems using conventional brass-cased .22 rounds. The Russian ammo extracts perfectly, so I restrict that rifle to shooting only the Russian steel-cased product.

If you want to know more about your steel .45 ammunition, there are many postings here about it, and I think one even provides a website link to read “Bullets by the Billion,” which is a book describing the history of the WWII Evansville plant that made them.

Steel cased Russian .22s were quite common over here about a decade back or more. Maybe longer than that thinking about it.

Probably more like two decades. It would have been before the pistol ban. the trouble is that a decade isn’t what it used to be when you get to my age. It was however, from memory, top grade stuff, used by the Match pistol boys. Certainly not budget.